Coming to Pittsburgh
Thursday January 31st 2008, 3:07 am
Filed under: Patristics

One of my favorite writers on early Christianity is Fr. Michael Giesler, author of the novels Junia: The Fictional Life and Death of an Early Christian and its sequel, Marcus. Both are set in second-century Rome. They’re great page-turners in the tradition of Ben-Hur and Quo Vadis; and they deserve a wide audience. (I’ll post my review, from Touchstone magazine, tomorrow.)

I’m happy to report that Fr. Giesler is coming to my beloved Pittsburgh next week. I’m sure you’ve always wanted to see Pittsburgh. I hope you’ll be able to meet us (and pick up his books) at one of his public appearances. The dates, places, and times follow.

THURSDAY, FEB. 7
8:30 p.m. — Lecture, “The Glory of the Early Christians: Family Life and the Gift of Celibacy,” Gentile Gallery, Franciscan University of Steubenville

FRIDAY, FEB. 8
11 am — Mass at Aquinas Academy (2308 West Hardies Road, Wildwood, PA 15091)
12 noon – 2 pm — Booksigning in lobby of Aquinas Academy
3-5 pm — Booksigning at Kirners Bookstore (219 4th Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222)

SATURDAY, FEB. 9
10:30-11:30 am — Booksigning at Grandevue Study Center (237 N. Dithridge St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213)

Fr. Giesler holds a doctorate in sacred theology and an advanced degree in philosophy. In addition to his novels, he has published many scholarly articles.

If you know people in Pittsburgh or Steubenville, please spread the word!


No Comments so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment
Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)